Taking Action

In the past year I got more active, which is what led to founding this blog.  I faxed, emailed and called elected officials. Somewhere late in the year I discovered how easy it is to use Skype for phoning Congress. Now most of the offices are hyper-linked. 

Today I made my five calls as follows:

Speaker of the House John Boehner (Bay-ner, I believe): Congratulated him on his election as speaker and urged him to fight “Obamacare”

Rep. Darrell Issa, R Cal 49: An email to thank him for trying to root out Washington corruption. I almost told him to be sure and keep an eye on Republicans, too but I will wait.

MA Sen. Scott Brown (R) : I chided Brown for START as there was no hurry to ratify a treaty, especially one about which both parties are in substantial disagreement. That could lead to real trouble.

CA Rep: Jane Harman D-36th – I told her staff to tell her to work with the Republicans and repeal the health care mess and start over. A theme I worked all year long to no avail so far.

Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT): Since Hatch was named in the article I referenced yesterday regarding Thorium I called him to find out where it stands. His staff thought I was asking about Euphorium (No Kidding!) so I am reasonably sure no progress has been made.  Once I explained what I was talking about I did get the email for the staff assistant on the nuclear waste watch so I hope to have more for you soon.

This entry was posted in Taking Action, Thorium. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking Action

  1. Steve says:

    We have the video of Speaker John Boehner’s opening remarks to the US House of Representatives posted now on Common Cents….

    http://www.commoncts.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

